The Jump Drive: Evil Enemy of Organization

21 02 2007

I don’t know about you, but my computer organization is screwed. I mean, it starts out okay, but it ends up all mucked up, as time and files fly by.

It’s not that I don’t have an order, it’s just that I never get rid of anything. So I have millions of files, many with strange, abbreviated names from various previous computer incarnations. But my real downfall has been this hairy-faced bastard of a jump drive.

Seriously. The jump drive totally screws my organization. I cannot keep the latest file version in any one place. I have to make a big mess because I’m in a hurry and I can’t do my freaking electronic filing. Isn’t it bad enough that my dead-tree files are in chaos? No, I have to make a virtual mess of things as well, apparently.

And whatever you do, I don’t want to hear about The Briefcase. That folded-leather devil sitting so smugly on the desktop is really an evil brain-eating ogre. It rips the skin off new drafts whole. I don’t even want to think about it.

These issues would have lost me many an original and poetic file had not Google Desktop Search come to my rescue. This super search of all docs desktop can even find the text of lost documents in its own cache of your files, which is incredibly cool when that sick loser The Briefcase uses its Midas Touch to raze my latest creation.

***

I love the super-organized, especially when they show up in ReadyMade with a DIY project. Some people live like they don’t know newspaper turns yellow with age. The Uber-organized among us must apparently find new and different ways to spend their Shaker-like organizing energy. That’s because none of them are having sex, of course.

Okay, maybe they are having sex, maybe they aren’t. All’s I’m saying is, maybe there’s a reason Organized and Orgasm both start with Or.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

